How to know if someone blocked you on Telegram? If you don’t know how to check if someone has blocked you on Telegram, we are going to help you out. Like most instant messaging apps, Telegram allows you to block other people from contacting you again. If you decide to block someone, that person will not be able to send you messages, but they will not know you have blocked them either. However, checking whether someone has blocked you in Telegram is easier than you think.
Whatsapp and Telegram are two very similar applications, the way to check this in Telegram is similar, and there are different methods that can help you find out.
- How to block calls from a certain prefix on a Huawei smartphone?
- How to change the country in the Google Play Store?
- How to fix “Communication error 16” on Android Auto?
How to know if someone blocked you on Telegram?
Like the vast majority of apps of this type, Telegram will not warn you if someone has blocked you, and therefore you will have to be the one to check it yourself in case you have suspicions. Of course, the most obvious step is to contact the person. If this is not possible for any reason, it is time to look for alternative solutions.
Probably, the most effective way to know if you have been blocked in Telegram is to check profile images, although it is necessary to take into account some aspects that can lead to confusion.
If their profile image stops appearing to you, it is also possible that they do not have you added to their contacts and have decided to change the visibility settings of their profile picture so that only people in their address book can see their picture. Of course, if you can continue to chat with that person via Telegram, they will not have blocked you even though their profile picture is not visible.
Like WhatsApp, Telegram shows last seen, although this option can be disabled or modified. But, in case we are blocked, the status of the user in question will not appear.
To begin with, if you have been blocked, the “online” status will not appear when the other person enters the application. In addition, instead of an estimated date of the last connection, you will most likely see something like “long time ago”, even though you know that the last connection was made hours or days ago.
In this sense, the best way to check if someone has blocked you is to compare the status of the same person with two different Telegram accounts, yours and someone else’s: if yours shows the status “long time ago”, and the other person’s account shows a more specific or different data, it is very likely that that person has blocked you.
Although there is no exact way to check if you have been blocked in Telegram, you can follow a series of recommendations. In short:
- First, make sure that your messages do not arrive.
- Check the other person’s profile picture. If you can’t see it, you may have been blocked.
- Check the status. If it shows “long time ago and you’re sure it’s not, you’ve probably been blocked.
Know these signs to understand if you are blocked on Telegram
No ‘Online Status’ or ‘Last Seen’
If you block someone on Telegram, you will no longer be able to view their status updates. The program includes a ‘last seen’ option that may be toggled on or customized as necessary. If someone has blocked you on Telegram, your user’s status won’t show up.
If you have been blocked, you will not be able to see the other person’s ‘online status’ when they first enter the site. Furthermore, you will most often see ‘long time ago’ rather than a concrete date or time. You may also use two different Telegram accounts to compare the condition of the same person to check if someone has blocked your account on Telegram.
No profile picture
To discover whether you’ve been blocked on Telegram, examine the user’s profile picture. When a contact is blocked, he or she no longer has access to a portion of the messaging application’s profile information, including the profile picture. It indicates that you have been blocked on Telegram if the profile picture of the user who was previously visible to you is replaced by his or her initials.
If the profile photo of a user isn’t showing, there’s a chance they haven’t added you to their contacts and have adjusted the profile picture’s view settings. Only people who are on the contact list can view the profile photo in such situations.
Messages not being delivered
If you are the owner of a Telegram group or an admin, you will not be able to send messages if someone blocks you. Send a message if you believe a contact has blocked you. If only one tick is shown in the response, this implies that you have been blocked on Telegram. However, if the confirmation of the message sent is indicated by two ticks, this indicates that you have not been blocked on Telegram.
No voice or video calls
You may also make a voice or video call to someone to find out if they have blocked you. To understand, you may contact the individual concerned by Telegram and ask him/her why he/she has blocked you. You must accept that you have been blocked if the call is not completed or if there is a privacy notice on the screen.
No ‘account deleted’ notification from Telegram
Users may delete their Telegram accounts, which removes all of their messages and context (media, files) with friends through the program.
If you delete your own Telegram account, other people will get an ‘Account Deleted’ notice in their chats. However, if the Telegram app does not display a “Account Deleted” warning, it’s likely that you’ve been blocked.
That’s it. These are the most effective ways to check if you have been blocked in Telegram. Also, keep in mind that other people may report your messages in addition to blocking you, and if they do, Telegram will apply restrictions on your account, preventing you from sending messages to those people you do not have on your contact list with their associated phone.