If you don’t know how to disable iCloud Photos and My Photo Stream on your iPhone, we are going to help you out. As you may have noticed, iPhone warns you when you try to disable iCloud Photos and My Photo Stream on your iPhone. However, in most cases, you should be able to safely disable those features without losing the photos stored on the devices.
First, you should understand how iCloud Photos and My Photo Stream work.
Below you will find a brief description of iCloud Photos and My Photo Stream along with the steps required to disable them.
How to disable iCloud Photos on iPhone?
This option allows you to share images that are taken on your iPhone with contacts. When you enable iCloud Photos on your iPhone, it only makes a copy of the photos available on your iPhone. Therefore, if you disable this feature, you will not delete the photos stored on your device.
In simple terms, all the images taken and stored on your iPhone’s internal storage will not be deleted by disabling this feature.
To disable iCloud Photos, go to Settings> Photos> and disable iCloud Photos by moving the toggle to the OFF position.
How to disable My Photo Stream on iPhone?
Enabling My Photo Stream on iPhone allows you to access the photos you take on your iPhone on all your linked devices (iPad, iPod and Mac). Disabling My Photo Stream on iPhone or iPad only deletes the copy stored in iCloud and will not delete the actual photos.
To disable My Photo Stream, go to Settings> Photos> and disable My Photo Stream by moving the toggle switch to the OFF position.
How to disable iCloud Photos and My Photo Stream on Mac?
- To disable iCloud photos on Mac, open the Photos app> click Photos> Preferences.
- On the Preferences screen, click the iCloud tab and uncheck iCloud Photos and My Photo Stream.
Note: When iCloud Photos is enabled, you can download a copy of My Photos to your Mac by selecting the Download Originals to this Mac option.