How to prevent strangers from texting you on Telegram?

How to prevent strangers from texting you on Telegram?

If you want to learn how to prevent strangers from texting you on Telegram, we are going to help you out in this guide. Telegram is one of the most popular messaging applications worldwide, which is growing at a good pace after WhatsApp’s privacy policy changes.

If strangers in Telegram have sent you a message or added to a group and you do not want this to happen, there are a couple of simple settings within the application that we can make to prevent this from happening. Only those who you have in contacts will be able to write to you a message if you follow some simple steps.

How to prevent strangers from texting you on Telegram?

The process is really simple. We will only have to change some settings. This way the application will be a much more secure place for you. If you care about your privacy and security we recommend you to follow these steps:

  • Open Telegram on your phone.
  • Click on the top three stripes on the left side.
  • Go to Settings.
  • Go to Privacy and security.
  • Go to the Phone number section and select who can see it (Contacts or Nobody is the best option).
  • Under Groups and Channels, choose who can add you in a group.
  • The fact that any user in the application will be able to see your phone number is what allows them to include you in a group or send you a message even if you don’t know them. By hiding this, strangers can only add if they know your username.
How to prevent strangers from texting you on Telegram?
How to prevent strangers from texting you on Telegram?

How to prevent strangers from texting you on Telegram by disabling People Nearby feature?

Another reason why unknown people are texting to you on Telegram might be a feature called People Nearby. This feature allows you to see which people you have near. This way people that are physically around you can find you through the app. We recommend you to disable it. Follow these steps:

  • Open Telegram on your phone.
  • Tap on the three horizontal stripes on the top left.
  • Go to People nearby.
  • Click on the option called “Stop showing me”.
  • When you have this function deactivated, none of those people in your area that you do not know will be able to write to you or include you in any group.

Leave a Reply