Today we are going to show you how to recover deleted files or folders in Dropbox. Clouds are the ideal places to save your files and keep them safe. If you are a user of this storage platform, you will know that it has some important advantages.
For example, it is a cross-platform application. So you can access your files from your mobile phone or computer. It doesn’t matter what operating system your device has. In fact, Dropbox is compatible with Android, iOS, macOS, Linux and Windows.
Another advantage is that it is able to create backup copies of your most important documents. In case your computer is damaged or lost, all the information will still be available in the cloud. However, you may wonder how to recover deleted files in Dropbox. In this article, we are going to show you the method.
How to recover deleted files or folders in Dropbox?
Is it possible to recover deleted files in Dropbox older than 30 days?
In Dropbox deleted files are stored in a specific section. It is called Deleted Files and it helps you recover your documents after deleting them. You can access this section by following these steps:
- Access Dropbox and log in with your account.
- Look for the menu on the left side.
- You will see several sections.
- Click on Deleted files.
- Select the document you want to recover.
- Click Recover.
The restored document will be placed in its original folder. If you have a long list of deleted files, use the filters on the right side of the screen.
Dropbox keeps deleted folders in the Deleted files section for 30 days. If it has been more than 30 days since you deleted a document, a photo or any other file, you will, unfortunately, lose it forever. If you have a Dropbox Professional account, this period is extended to 180 days.
How to recover deleted files from a shared folder in Dropbox?
You need to apply the same procedure that we described in the first section of this article. However, there is one thing you should be clear about. The shared files that can be recovered are those to which you have publisher access. If you only have read access, you will not be able to recover them.