Today we are going to review what the panic button in Chrome is for and how does it work. Google Chrome is going to have a privacy improvement that many users will surely appreciate. With this button, you will be able to delete the most recent search history.
To attract users to an application you have to offer several benefits. Google wants to release some features related to privacy, adding a panic button to Chrome might be a clever move.
What is the panic button in Chrome?
Chrome’s “panic button” will allow you to instantly delete the last 15 minutes of search history on your mobile phone. A privacy improvement will arrive along with other new features that will update the browser to the next level.
While in the desktop version it will be possible to configure to delete the history every 3, 18 or 36 months, on mobile phones, there will be a panic button for this purpose. It will be enough to press it once to make everything recently searched disappear completely.
This option will help to delete the latest searches from the history which may be embarrassing or particularly private. Google claims that everything will be permanently deleted as soon as you press the button to delete the last 15 minutes.
This button will automatically and continuously remove your search history, along with other web and app activities. And we are not talking about a new feature that will arrive in a while to all smartphones, it is available on some devices right now.
How to use the panic button in Chrome?
iOS mobile phones using the Chrome browser will have the button starting today, Google reports that it is already being deployed, although Android devices will receive the update a little bit later.
In addition, one of the functions that Google will also add is the ability to protect the search history with a password so that no one other than the same user can access it. Undoubtedly, these are security measures that all those concerned about their privacy will appreciate.