If you don’t know how to disable friend suggestions on Facebook, we are going to help you out. The goal of this social network is to have more and more friends, but if you think you have enough, we are going to show you how to turn off Facebook friend suggestions. It is still the most popular social network with 2.74 billion active users at the beginning of 2021.
Why friend suggestions appear on Facebook?
If you’ve ever wondered why Facebook friend suggestions appear, the answer is simple: this is the goal of Facebook, they want you to expand your community and interact with it.
Generally, you will find people who belong to the same group as you, who have been tagged in the same photo, who have gone to the same school, work, language school, etc.
But sometimes you may also see people that you don’t know or that, for whatever reason, you don’t want to have as friends, or even don’t want to see them in the friend recommendations. Whatever your motivation, you may want to know how to remove the friend suggestions on Facebook, we tell you below!
How to disable friend suggestions on Facebook?
Knowing how to remove suggestions for you from Facebook if you have seen it in the News Feed is easy, you just have to check the cross that appears in the top left of the contact photo.
There is also another way to do it so you don’t have to “wait” for that information to appear out of nowhere:
- Log in to your Facebook profile.
- Go to the friends section.
- Three options will appear: “Your friends”, “Friend requests”, and “Suggestions”; select the latter.
- The list of suggestions will appear and you can click “Add” or “Remove”. There, only you can decide what to do…
Another way to reduce friend suggestions, although it won’t remove them, is to disable the synchronization of your phone contacts and Facebook contacts; or to control a little more who can see your profile and who can send you friend requests.
What happens if you delete a friend suggestion on Facebook?
First of all, and as Facebook itself explains in its FAQ, “Removing unhelpful suggestions can help us improve People You May Know suggestions.”. For whatever reason, you do not want a person to appear in your suggestions and delete all traces of them on the social network, there is only one option left: block him/her on Facebook.