How to disable new user notifications on Telegram? One of the main differences between WhatsApp and Telegram is in the user base. Telegram is not that widespread, so some of your contacts may not have an account. Instead, Telegram alerts you every time one of your contacts creates an account. Tou can turn it off from the settings and we are going to show you how.
- How to use Advanced Search feature in Telegram?
- How to hide a chat in Telegram without deleting?
- How to activate the dark mode in Telegram?
How to disable new user notifications on Telegram?
It is optional, but the standard way to use Telegram is to synchronize your contact list, so you can start a conversation more easily. Telegram stores your contacts on its servers and when one of these numbers creates a Telegram account, you will be notified.
This notification arrives like a private message, so it can arrive to you at any time and in any place. The good news is that you can disable them by going to the application settings. In Telegram for iOS, the settings are accessed directly from the Settings button on the bottom bar. In Android, you must display the menu ☰ and tap on Settings.
When you are in, you should go to the Notifications and Sounds section, where you can fine-tune all the notifications that come to you from the application. The one we are interested in at the moment is called A contact joined Telegram, which you need to uncheck.
After unchecking the box, Telegram will stop sending you a notification every time a phone number you have in your contacts joins the application, although the messages you have already received up to that point will remain there. You can delete them in batches, by selecting several with a long touch. This way, you’ve learned how to disable new user notifications on Telegram.