A new security feature in iOS 15 will allow users to wipe a locked iPhone, iPod, or iPad without connecting it to a computer. Previously, this only happened when an iPhone was connected to a computer.
Apple has revealed that as of version 15.2 of its mobile operating system, iOS, it will be possible to remotely erase all devices with just an internet connection.
When a previously locked iPhone was connected to a computer for the first time in order to erase it and reset its passcode, a new ‘Erase [Device]’ option would appear in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen.
If you tap on this, it will prompt you for your Apple ID and password. Once entered correctly it will wipe all data and settings from the device and then set a new passcode.
Apple’s iOS 15.2 update brings a few new features to the public, including a new App Privacy Report, Apple’s new Apple Music Voice Plan, and Apple’s new Communication Safety feature for young children in Messages.