Google Drive will add a function that will make it easier to control who can send us files and eliminate spam caused by certain accounts.
Regardless of whether it is a stranger or a contact that is causing spam, Drive will give us the ability to prevent them from continuing to bother us with their content.
While Google Drive is an ideal tool for file sharing and teamwork, it is not spam-free. Some users take advantage of the functions of this Google service to send spam, either by sending files to our Drive account for no reason or by taking advantage of the previous contact.
To deal with this solution, Google will implement the possibility of blocking this kind of user. An option that will be available from the “Shared with me” section in the web version of Drive. It will only be necessary to choose the file that the user has sent us as spam, and from the context menu choose the option to block it taking into account your email address.
And of course, once the blocking is done, the user will no longer be able to send us any type of file, but we will also have some extras. For example, when we block the user, all the content that the user has sent to our account will be automatically deleted. So just blocking him will be enough to eliminate all the spam that he has generated in our account.
And on the other hand, blocking also prevents the user from accessing the content that we have previously shared. Yes, it will be a total block that will cut off all future interactions with the user and its contents, and at the same time, it prevents access to any files shared in previous projects.
So a single tool will save you from having to configure different settings in your account to avoid any relationship with spammy users. As mentioned by the Google team, this feature will be implemented in Drive in the coming months.