Netflix is preparing to crack down on users who share passwords. Yes, those who share their Netflix accounts with family, friends, and acquaintances.
When it detects that an account is being used by someone other than its owner, it will automatically trigger a dynamic check.
Netflix tests a feature that prevents password sharing
Netflix plans to implement a security measure that will automatically trigger when it detects that a shared password is being used. When this happens, Netflix will ask the user to enter a security code that will be sent by text message to a cell phone or email address.
The user will have a limited time to register this code and verify that it is their account. And if he fails to do so, then he will no longer be able to play content on Netflix. In that case, it will suggest the user register and create their account, along with the option of a free trial.
The idea is that this measure will prevent unauthorized people from logging into accounts. Either because the same account is shared between different users or because someone has taken over a Netflix account fraudulently.
Of course, this measure does not apply to the family group living in the same house, as stated in Netflix’s policies:
The Netflix service and all content viewed on it are for personal, non-commercial use only, and should not be shared with people who are not members of your household
At the moment, it appears that this Netflix security feature is in testing and only some users have noticed this dynamic when using a borrowed login. We’ll have to see if Netflix decides to implement it for all users in future updates, or if it falls by the wayside like other experimental features.