The new Whatsapp privacy update will enable users to hide last seen staus. WhatsApp is introducing the ability to quit a group secretly, as well as a mechanism to hide your “last seen” status from particular friends. Regular users of WhatsApp will be aware that the “Last Seen” status of a contact stands on top of the discussion thread and lets you know when they last opened and used the program.
WhatsApp privacy update is live: New features
To prevent other contacts from knowing when you were last online, you can disable your “Last Seen” status. However, the setting’s options are only “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” and “Nobody,” and there is no way to establish an exception for specific contacts.
However, that is about to change. The “My Contacts Except…” option has been added to WhatsApp’s privacy settings, allowing you to choose which contacts shouldn’t be able to see when you last used the messaging service.
WhatsApp began by default hiding users’ online status to strangers in December. Although it was a step in the right way, your whole list of contacts can still see whether you’re online or not. However, WhatsApp’s next update, which will allow you to select which contacts can view your status, is meant to remedy that. So, turn on the setting for that user if you don’t want someone to notice that you’re ignoring their message; that way, they won’t (hopefully) ever see the difference.
Another useful feature that will allow you to secretly exit groups is also being introduced by WhatsApp. Currently, the app alerts every user in the group of your departure, which may cause some group members to message you privately to ask as to your reasons for leaving. The new function should help remove the unpleasantness that comes with ending a chat.
In addition to rolling out these two features this month, WhatsApp claims it is developing a feature that will prevent users from screenshotting “see once” messages. View once communications, which function somewhat like a photo or video sent through Snapchat, disappear after the recipient has seen them once, as opposed to disappearing messages, which disappear after a set period of time.
Group conversations will soon receive another privacy enhancement, specifically when you leave them. The act of quitting a group conversation is typically quite public and might be embarrassing because WhatsApp announces the user’s departure to the entire group.
These announcements may also result in a lot of individuals entering and leaving a conversation at once, which may be distracting to other participants as WhatsApp officially permits up to 256 users to join a single chat group.
In order to improve the issue moving ahead, only the group admins will be notified when you leave a group chat. A dialog box that reads, “Only you and group admins will be notified that you left the group,” displays when a group member chooses to leave.
Another privacy feature, preventing users from screenshotting “view once” messages, is soon to be added to the hugely popular messaging app. View once communications, as opposed to disappearing messages, vanish once the receiver has seen them, not after a predetermined period of time.
Receivers won’t be able to preserve or share sensitive information with other users as easily if screenshots are blocked, the theory goes. Although this function is still under testing, WhatsApp promises that users will soon be able to utilize it.
Users could be discouraged from saving or disclosing sensitive information by adding a feature that blocks screenshots. Although this functionality is currently under testing, WhatsApp promises to make it available to users “soon.”
If you wan to improve your privacy you can learn how to hide blue tick on WhatsApp by visiting out guide.