Instagram will allow recovering recently deleted posts and stories.
One can find many reasons for deleting posts, an impulse, a social diet, anger, regret or just an accident. But changing your mind after deletion is useless, because the problem with deleting a post or content, whether on Instagram or any other service, is that it usually is non-reversible. So once you confirm the deletion, that content will be lost forever along with the interactions it generated. Likes, comments etc. will be lost in time.
To avoid this problem, those responsible for the social network have just deployed a new feature. Now you can recover your deleted posts. The new feature has been active from now on and is only available in the latest version of the Instagram app. So it might still take a few days to be accessible to all Instagram users.
The operation is very simple. From now on, when you delete a photo, video or a story from Instagram, it will no longer be visible to Instagram users, but it will not be completely deleted as well. Instead it will be moved to a new folder specifically designed to collect these elements temporarily. Stories will be kept for 24 hours (the standard lifespan of this type of content) and the rest for 30 days.
During this time, the user will be able to choose to restore, which afterwards you can republish these items on Instagram, or delete them permanently, something that will also happen if we let the 30-day or 24-hour period pass. Moreover, as an additional security measure, Instagram has configured this new feature to require authentication both to restore publications and to delete them permanently.
This security control, according to Instagram, has the function of preventing users whose accounts are hacked from permanently losing their publications, something that is relatively common in this type of circumstance. Thus, if a malicious user deletes another user’s posts, the legitimate owner of the posts will have up to one month to recover them.