The vast majority are turning to Telegram and Signal, applications that have seen a significant increase in registrations in recent days. However, if you are one of those people who are completely determined to leave WhatsApp, simply deleting the application is not enough. You should know that the service offers us the option to delete the account permanently. But watch out, because once the process is done there is no going back.
How to delete a WhatsApp account?
If you have finally decided to move to a more secure and reliable application and if you want to delete your WhatsApp account, it is not a hard task. You just need to follow these steps:
- Open WhatsApp on your mobile device.
- Go to the configuration menu (from the three dots vertically in Android, or from “Configuration” in iOS).
- Go to the “Account” option.
- Press “Delete account.”
- Enter your phone number.
- Press “Delete account” again.
- In the next section, you can specify the reasons for your abandonment and leave comments to help them improve.
- Press “Delete Account” again.
- In the last section, you will be shown a warning message to emphasize that you will not be able to recover anything.
- Press “Delete account” for the last time.
Once you have followed the steps above, your account will be completely removed from WhatsApp. Not only will you lose access to the application but your message history (text and files) will also be deleted; you will be automatically removed from all the groups. However, the people you interacted with will still see the messages or files you sent them.
WhatsApp specifies that the deletion process can take up to 90 days to complete. However, this does not mean that you can access or recover your account during this period.